The fieldworker collection settings allow you to control exactly how a fieldworker can suspend, resume and complete a form, and what happens after submitting a form. You can find these settings by navigating to the Collect tab (1), choosing Fieldworker Collection (2) and selecting Advanced fieldworker collection settings (3) from the panel on the right.
The following fieldworker collection settings can be managed:
- Number of in-progress form instances allowed
- Allow restart
- Allow incomplete submissions
- Complete form sequentially
- Unassign on complete
- GPS Capture
By default, every form's completion behaviour is set to allow single instances that can be resumed, and to allow fieldworkers to discard partially completed forms. You can change the form completion behaviour at any time. The changes will only take effect once you click on 'Save Changes' (even when resetting to defaults). Fieldworkers will only receive the changes when they have connectivity.
The different settings available are explained in more detail below.
Number of in-progress form instances allowed
When this option has been selected, the fieldworker may choose to resume one of the in-progress instances, or to start a new instance of the form (which can also be suspended if necessary). There is no limit to the number of in-progress forms that the fieldworker can have.
Single (allow resume) - default
If this option is selected, a fieldworker will be able to exit/quit a form and resume it later. This is the default option selected.
Single (no resume)
If this option is selected, the fieldworker will not be able to quit a form and continue it later. The fieldworker will lose any responses captured in that form to that point.
Multiple (allow resume)
By default, a fieldworker can only have one incomplete form in progress at a time (assuming that 'Single (allow resume') is enabled). This means that they must complete the form they have started before they can start a new one.
In some situations however, you may prefer to allow the fieldworker to have multiple forms in progress at any point in time. This may, for example, be useful where a fieldworker is frequently interrupted during the interview process and needs to be able to continue with another interview (using the same form template) and return to the original interview at a later stage.
A form that has been suspended (when the fieldworker exits/quits the form) is labelled by adding a reference to the form name. This reference allows the fieldworker to identify each in-progress form in the form listing. By default, the reference is the start date and time of the submission, but it can be changed by the fieldworker (e.g. to use the name of the respondent or some other meaningful identifier).
Note: The reference is not uploaded as part of the submission.
If a previously suspended form is selected from the form listing, the fieldworker may choose to resume the suspended form (assuming that 'Single (allow resume)' has been enabled) or keep the suspended form and start a new instance of the form (assuming 'Multiple (allow resume)' has been enabled). If 'Allow restart' has been enabled, they may also choose to discard the selected in-progress form and start the form from the beginning. Any responses previously captured for the selected in-progress form will be discarded permanently. The 'Allow restart' option is enabled by default.
Allow incomplete submissions
By default, a fieldworker must complete a form before any captured responses are uploaded to the console. By enabling 'Allow incomplete submissions', the fieldworker can submit an incomplete instance of the form. An incomplete instance can be submitted by selecting the 'upload' icon for the form instance. The fieldworker will need to capture a reason why they were unable to complete the form. Once the incomplete instance has been submitted, it will be removed from the fieldworker's handset.
Complete form sequentially
Forms will need to be completed sequentially by default and the check box next to 'Complete for sequentially' will be ticked on the Advanced fieldworker collect settings page. To allow fieldworkers to switch between pages when completing a form, simply untick the checkbox and save the changes.
Unassign on complete
By default, a fieldworker can complete any number of submissions of a form until it is manually unassigned from their handset by a form designer/administrator. By enabling the 'Unassign on complete' option, access to the form will be removed automatically once a form is completed by the fieldworker. The form can be re-assigned to the fieldworker from the console if necessary. This option can be used to ensure that only one submission of a particular form can be captured by a fieldworker.
If a handset supports GPS and its location is available at the time a form is captured, the mobile app will automatically record the current GPS location (i.e. without the fieldworker having to manually record their position using an explicit GPS field). The location information will be included as part of the "Submission details" section in the Grid on the Analyse page. This is automatically generated for each submission (and also includes the form start and end time, language and other metadata).
Disabling background GPS capture prevents the location from being stored and linked to the submission, even if GPS is enabled on the handset. This may be important where respondent confidentiality is paramount or in geographically sensitive areas where capturing this information may be restricted.
Note: Even if background GPS has been disabled, the application will still allow location to be captured if an explicit GPS field has been added to the form.
After confirming that you want to disable automatic background GPS capture, this will be indicated under your form's status on the Overview tab:
Using the legacy form designer? Have a look at our article on Form completion behaviour in the legacy form designer.