The Form Completion Behaviour settings allow you to control exactly how a fieldworker can suspend, resume and complete a form, and what happens next. You can find these settings under 'Optional Form Settings' (2) in your form Design tab (1).
When you click on 'Advanced form settings' (3) in the panel on the right, you will see the different settings that you can enable/disable by selecting/deselecting the tick boxes and clicking 'Save Changes'.
By default, every form's completion behaviour is set to allow single instances that can be resumed, and to allow fieldworkers to discard partially completed forms. You can change the form completion behaviour at any time. The changes will only take effect once you click on 'Save Changes' (even when resetting to defaults), and fieldworkers will only receive the changes once they check for updates.
The different settings available are explained in more detail below.
Single (allow resume)
If this option is enabled, a fieldworker will be able to resume an incomplete form that they previously quit. This is enabled by default.
Single (no resume)
If this option is enabled, the fieldworker will be prevented from resuming an incomplete form, i.e. they will not be allowed to have any in-progress forms. The fieldworker will lose any responses captured up to that point when they quit a form.
Multiple (allow resume)
By default, a fieldworker can only have one incomplete form in progress at a time (assuming that 'Single (allow resume') is enabled). This means that they must complete the current form before they can start the next. In some situations, you may prefer to allow the fieldworker to have multiple forms in progress. This may, for example, be useful where a fieldworker is frequently interrupted during the interview process and needs to be able to continue with another interview (using the same form) and return to the original interview at a later stage.
A form that has been suspended (when the fieldworker quits the form) is labelled by adding a reference to the form name. This reference allows the fieldworker to identify each in-progress form in the form listing. By default, the reference is the start date and time of the submission, but it can be changed by the fieldworker (e.g. to use the name of the respondent or some other meaningful identifier).
Note: The reference is not uploaded as part of the submission.
When selecting an incomplete form, the fieldworker may choose 'Keep & start new' from the options menu (bottom left). This will keep the selected in-progress form and start a new form (which can also be suspended if necessary). There is no limit to the number of in-progress forms that the fieldworker can have.
If a previously suspended form is selected from the form listing, the fieldworker may choose to resume the suspended form (assuming that 'Single (allow resume)' has been enabled) or keep the suspended form and start a new instance of the form (assuming 'Multiple (allow resume)' has been enabled). If 'Allow restart' has been enabled, they may also choose to discard the selected in-progress form and start the form from the beginning. Any responses previously captured for the selected in-progress form will be discarded permanently. The 'Allow restart' option is enabled by default.
Allow incomplete submissions
By default, a fieldworker must complete a form before any captured responses are uploaded to the console. By enabling 'Allow incomplete submissions', the fieldworker can submit an incomplete instance of the form. An incomplete instance can be submitted by selecting the form instance and selecting 'Submit incomplete' from the options menu. The fieldworker will need to capture a reason why they were unable to complete the form, which will be available when reviewing the submission in the console. Once the incomplete instance has been submitted, it will be removed from the fieldworker's handset.
Unassign on complete
By default, a fieldworker can complete any number of submissions of a form until it is manually unassigned from their handset by a form designer/administrator. By enabling the 'Unassign on complete' option, access to the form will be removed automatically once a form is completed by the fieldworker. The form can be re-assigned to the fieldworker from the console if necessary. This option can be used to ensure that only one submission of a particular form can be captured by a fieldworker.
Note: Enabling/disabling background GPS is covered in more detail by our article: Disable/enable background GPS capture